A reminder that Unlocking Warwick will be conducting two free tours of the Jury Street Court House and its surrounds on Saturday 15th September as part of the Heritage Open Days Weekend.
Turn up at the Visitor Information Centre for the tours at either 11am or 2pm. They take just 45 minutes as guides tell the story of the Grade 1 listed building and introduce visitors to some of the rich history of Warwick from its founding in 914 by Alfred the Great’s daughter, Aethelflaeda.
The Court House built in 1725, and the building on this central site that preceded it, held Petty Sessions and magistrates’ hearings for more than 450 years. But there are no courts there now after the opening of the Leamington Justice Centre in the 1970s. The Court House is the Town Hall, with the Council Chamber, Visitor Information Centre, the Warwickshire Yeomanry Museum and a restored Regency ballroom which hosts a variety of community events and private functions.
Numbers have to be limited for practical reasons, so first come – first on the tours.